Writing an Orthanc Plugin / Script

Hello,

I am a bit new to Orthanc and currently evaluating it for the following use case:

I would like to have Orthanc receive DICOM studies from a modality and instead of say, doing a regular DICOM routing, I’d like to package the study into a tarball and upload it in one shot to an https REST backend.

I am not really sure what the best way to do this would be or if this can even be done easily within Orthanc.

Can I do this with a Lua script?

My apologies I am quite new to both Orthanc and Lua, and I am trying to evaluate if it fits into my use case before really digging in and giving it a go.

Thanks in advance,
David

Yeppers, you can. Check out the Orthanc REST API, search for ZIP. Allows you to make an archive based on a study. So you would in the Lua script initiate an archiving based on function OnStableStudy.

Thanks for the reply!

Please allow me a follow-up question.

Say I want to do the reverse - instead of pushing something to another backend based on an Orthanc event, I want to poll a remote backend (arbitrary REST API) in a Lua script say every 30 seconds (purpose being to download new series from elsewhere as they come in)…

I presume I could just have a Lua script w/ a for loop and a sleep timer that does this periodic polling, right? But looking at the source code I am not sure if this can be achieved in a non-blocking fashion … does anyone know if this can be achieved in a truly non-blocking manner?

If the answer is no, it cannot be done would I need to dive into the core c++ code and add another thread that does this polling in the server’s “main”, compile and thus resort to using my own custom binary, etc? Or would I be able to achieve it via a Plugin? I am assuming a Plugin could spawn it’s own thread and do this polling as required without interfering with the other parts of Orthanc? Yes?

Thanks very much in advance.

Best,
David

Hi David,