Recomended Way to Contribute

Hi, Sébastien!

I’d like to present a handful of updates to the Orthanc codebase. If they’re somehow incorporated, that’d be lovely.

Apologies in advance for this e-mail grew bigger by the minute.

I just don’t know the best way to do so. As of now, I’ve got a pretty clean checkout with said modifications. I was hoping to fork and possibly do a pull request. But I’m a newbie when it comes to opensource projects.

So I need help.

Over the last 6 months or so I’ve been working on a large PACS project based on Orthanc. During that period some modifications where made to the codebase, initially on the 1.3.2 version but yesterday I ported to the mainline. I’d love to have them contributed.

What has been done:

• Two callbacks:

• FilterIncomingInstance: it was available only for Lua scripts, or so it seemed

• You can process the image or do something before it is actually stored. We use it to notify an external system of its arrival. This triggers a pooling system.

• This was done based on this thread: https://groups.google.com/forum/#!searchin/orthanc-users/polling%7Csort:date/orthanc-users/EiO4KPVwSbU/tRcmT6NIRBgJ

• DicomImageFilter:

• When an archive is generated through the “/studies/(…)/archive” URI, we needed to strip some tags of the images whilst keeping the Orthanc storage intact. Through this callback we access the raw image content right before it gets written to the zip. And replace it.

• So with a couple of dcmtk’ing we can pretty much do what we need with the images.- RestApi:

• When the image was filtered, Orthanc should return 400 (Bad Request).- C Plugin Functions: