Orthanc explorer after patientID change ("before modification")

Hello everyone !

I continue my merry way for the development of my EHR and I turn now to the always sensitive issue of the merger of patient records.

Orthanc manages all the imaging of a patient. If I merge 2 patients into the EHR, then I need to change the patientID (especially, but not only) in Orthanc. I just tested the following command found in the documentation.

curl http://localhost:8042/patients/aabbea63-ff03567c-e8e6412c-eccd810c-9e3ce9f2/modify -X POST -d '{"Replace":{"PatientID":"hello"},"Force":true}'

If I understand correctly the result, it's more a duplication than a modification. I have now Bob with patientID : 30.1.10 and Bob with patientID : Hello. This is not a problem because I can then erase the original. I did this removal manually with Orthanc Explorer, but I am intrigued by the persistence in the "new" patient of a "before modification" option that does not do anything once the original patient is removed.

In short, the purpose of this message is to know if my law is good with Orthanc. Is the persistence of "before modification" just a side effect of no consequence?

Thank you !

Bertrand Boutillier

Hello everyone !

I continue my merry way for the development of my EHR and I turn now to
the always sensitive issue of the merger of patient records.

Orthanc manages all the imaging of a patient. If I merge 2 patients into
the EHR, then I need to change the patientID (especially, but not only) in
Orthanc. I just tested the following command found in the documentation.

curl http://localhost:8042/patients/aabbea63-ff03567c-e8e6412c-
eccd810c-9e3ce9f2/modify -X POST -d '{"Replace":{"PatientID":"hell
o"},"Force":true}'

If I understand correctly the result, it's more a duplication than a
modification. I have now Bob with patientID : 30.1.10 and Bob with
patientID : Hello. This is not a problem because I can then erase the
original. I did this removal manually with Orthanc Explorer, but I am
intrigued by the persistence in the "new" patient of a "before
modification" option that does not do anything once the original patient is
removed.

In short, the purpose of this message is to know if my law is good with
Orthanc. Is the persistence of "before modification" just a side effect of
no consequence?

Yes, indeed, it is actually not used. During the modification process,
there's a metadata "ModifiedFrom" that is stored at the patient level and
that references the Orthanc uuid of the original patient. Since the
original patient has been deleted, you might actually remove this metadata
to cleanup your OrthancDb (or just ignore it !).

Thanks for this answer !

B. Boutillier